Community

The center of OSPO++ is our working groups - recurring meetings where we share how we’re building open source program offices (OSPOs), where we collaborate on new initiatives, where we form a community of like-minded open source practitioners, and where we support each other’s efforts.

Over the past two years, we’ve held more than 500 hours of collective mind-sharing on the topic of OSPOs and how to effectively bring open source to our institutions.

Today, we have four different major working groups, focusing on:

  • Universities and higher education institutions
  • Cities and governments
  • US Open Source policy
  • The European Open Source network

We post about how to join on our mailing list.

When:

  • The US Open Source Policy group has a different schedule; learn more here.

  • The EU OSS network meets quarterly, in person, at a different European host city. Get in touch to learn more.

  • ‘Universities and Academia’ and ‘Cities and Governments’ each generally meet once monthly on Thursdays.

December 9 - ‘Universities and Academia’ and ‘Cities and Governments’

  • Topic: 2021 FOSS OSPO Community Closing Happy Hours
  • Time: 3pm CET / 9am EST / 6am PST
    (AND) 6pm CET / 12pm EST / 9am PST

  • Description: As 2021 roles to a close, we invite all those in the OSPO ecosystem, that we have interacted with virtually, in-person or have yet to meet, to come together, stop by and share in the group discussion, announce & celebrate your and other’s FOSS wins together, have a breakout chat with a friend, and join us for a drink.
    Morning Tea? Afternoon Coffee? Afterwork Beer or Wine?

Where:

Zoom. While we’d like to use an open source platform, we find that this works best for the our needs.

Rules:

We follow both Chatham House Rule and the Contributor Covenant Code of Conduct.

Who:

Anyone who currently runs an OSPO, inside champions looking to build an OSPO in their organization, and anyone else seeking to be part of this conversation.

How?

Want to join in? Get in touch.

Past Working Groups

We’ve hosted dozens of working group sessions on many topics. We keep a complete list here.